Claiming benefits for unemployment in Iowa is not as difficult as it may seem. Iowa has federal unemployment benefits as a means to help recently unemployed residents regain stability. Since providing aid is viewed as a temporary solution, the average benefits payment period only lasts an average of 26 weeks.
- How to Claim Unemployment Benefits
- How Much Are You Eligible to Receive on Your Unemployment Benefits Claim
However, some unemployment beneficiaries may be eligible to receive an unemployment benefits extension once they have exhausted their original benefits. To learn more about receiving unemployment benefits, read through the sections below.
Iowa Unemployment Resources
How to Claim Unemployment Benefits
For individuals looking to claim unemployment benefits in Iowa, it is best to learn the eligibility requirements. The requirements set in place by Iowa state law are primarily focused on the cause of your current unemployment status, and your ability to actively seek out full-time work.
To be eligible to file an unemployment benefits claim applicants must have been terminated for reasons that were of no fault of their own. Once a claim is filed, the applicant’s employer will be informed and asked to submit a formal statement that confirms the applicant’s reason for termination.
Either party reserves the right to file for an appeal in the event that they disagree with the final result of the claim. Some reasons in which an applicant may not be able to collect federal unemployment benefits include:
- Incarceration occurring during the work period
- Being unable to perform assigned tasks due to drug and alcohol abuse
- Misconduct in the workplace
- Not following the rules and regulations set in place by the employer
- Willful violation or lack of interest in the needs of the employer
- Deliberate theft (of value over $25) or damage to workplace property.
- Illegal activity or sexual harassment within the work place
There are select cases in which those who have voluntarily left their job are still eligible to receive federal unemployment benefits in Iowa. These reasons may include being the subject of physical, mental or verbal abuse, being forced to work in unsafe conditions, having wages illegally withheld, or being forced to work excess hours above the original agreed amount of time. Applicants who fall under these categories may still be able to claim unemployment benefits.
The applicant must also continue to fall under the required qualifications to continue claiming benefits for unemployment. These qualifications include filing bi-weekly claims and keeping an accurate record of job searches, including the name of the employer, contact information and means in which the applicant submitted their resume as evidence of a continued job search.
Not submitting the required amount of weekly job applications could result in termination of benefits. All applicants in Iowa must also accept any suitable full-time employment that is offered to them. Iowa state law defines suitable work as any position within the applicant’s expertise or training that provides realistic payment for the position.
If the applicant is currently dealing with circumstances such as a move that came as a result of domestic violence, injury or illness of a family member that now requires full-time care, or a personal temporary injury, the applicant may be excused from some of the requirements listed above. These special circumstances will be dealt with on a case-by-case basis.
How Much Are You Eligible to Receive on Your Unemployment Benefits Claim
In the state of Iowa, you can receive up to $431 per week in unemployment benefits. The amount you receive each week will be based on the amount of money you earned when you were employed, as the purpose of Unemployment Insurance is to replace your usual form of income.
For unemployed residents in Iowa without dependents, your weekly benefits will be the amount you earned in your highest-paid quarter of the base period divided by 23. The minimum amount of weekly benefits insurance in Iowa is $62 per week, with the maximum falling in at $431 per week. If you have dependents you are eligible to receive a higher weekly payment. The additional amount is determined based on your wages in the highest-paid quarter of the base period.
If you have one dependent your base period is divided by 22 if you have two dependents the same period is divided by 21. For those who have three dependents, the base period will be divided by 20, and for four dependents your high quarter wages will be divided by 19.