Eligibility for Unemployment Benefits in North Carolina
LOOKING FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION?
Qualifications for unemployment in North Carolina are set by the Division of Employment Security (DES). North Carolina residents must meet unemployment insurance eligibility requirements in order to be granted unemployment benefits. Eligibility for EDD is based on wages earned, the reason for unemployment and work availability.
Residents who are eligible for unemployment benefits must follow application procedures set by the NC DES. If you have become unemployed through no fault of your own and you meet the additional criteria, you may be granted unemployment aid within the state. Taxes paid by employers are used to fund unemployment benefits in each state.
If you meet the requirements of eligibility for unemployment, the amount of UI payments you will receive per week will be based on your recent work history and your earnings during the “base period.” Unemployed weekly benefits are calculated by dividing residents’ earnings from their last two quarters by 52. The maximum amount of benefits you may receive per week is $350.
Furthermore, the state of North Carolina offers residents, who meet the qualifications for unemployment, an extensive range of employment and training services with the help of workforce specialists at the local Division of Workforce Solutions (DWS). To obtain more information on unemployment insurance eligibility in North Carolina and to learn how to qualify for unemployment benefits, read the sections below:
- Who qualifies for unemployment benefits in North Carolina?
- What are the requirements to get unemployment benefits in North Carolina?
North Carolina Unemployment Resources
Who Qualifies for Unemployment Benefits in North Carolina?
Qualifications for unemployment are determined by residents’ past employment history and total wage earnings. In order to meet eligibility for unemployment in NC, residents must have been employed throughout the last 12 to 18 months prior to filing a claim to receive benefits.
Every person who files an unemployment claim will receive a wage transcript and monetary determination letter. During the last two quarters of the base period, residents must have earned at least $780 to meet unemployment insurance eligibility standards.
Additionally, if a worker has been laid off through no fault of his or her own, he or she is eligible to apply for unemployment aid in NC. In order to maintain eligibility for EDD, residents must also be physically able to work and actively seeking work while receiving aid.
Depending on the circumstances, you may still meet qualifications for North Carolina unemployment assistance if you voluntarily quit your job or got fired. If you were let go from your job for reasons that do not involve misconduct or criminal actions, you may still be eligible to receive unemployment insurance.
The state of North Carolina defines misconduct as continuous intentional or careless actions made by an employee. Examples of actions that represent misconduct include:
- Using drugs that violate an employer’s drug policy while on the job.
- Working while under the influence of alcohol or other substances.
- Physically violating someone at the workplace.
- Being arrested or convicted for certain types of criminal charges.
- Violating harassment or discrimination laws.
If the DES determines that you do not meet unemployment insurance eligibility requirements, you will receive a notice of determination at your mailing address, which states the reasons for aid denial.
What are the Requirements to Get Unemployment Benefits in North Carolina?
There are many factors that determine eligibility for unemployment in North Carolina, all of which were established by the NC DES. Unemployment insurance helps residents who have recently become unemployed by granting benefits and providing job search tools for new employment opportunities. The main qualifications for unemployment in North Carolina include:
- Being able and willing to work.
- Being completely or partially unemployed.
- Being unemployed through no fault of your own.
- Meeting minimum wage requirements during the last two quarters of the base period.
In addition to meeting North Carolina unemployment insurance eligibility requirements initially, residents must continue to meet certain weekly requirements in order to continue receiving aid throughout the course of their benefit period.
The DES requires each unemployment beneficiary to contact at least two different employers on two separate days each week. To continue meeting state qualifications for unemployment, you will also have to keep a detailed record of all the employers that you contact every week.
As part of the weekly requirement to receive unemployment aid, you will also have to submit a weekly certification that verifies your job search. The state of North Carolina also requires you to register for work by building a resume on the Department of Commerce’s online job center.
Additionally, eligibility for EDD in NC mandates that residents be able to work and accept employment offers immediately. If you are receiving unemployment benefits and you are offered a suitable position, by law, you are required to accept it. Suitable work opportunities are positions that match your set of skills, qualifications and training.
Additionally, you must accept a job position that is similar to your previous job in terms of the duties required and wages earned. Once you have received unemployment insurance for 10 weeks or more, you must be willing to accept any job opportunity that will pay you 120 percent of your weekly benefit amount. North Carolina residents are eligible to receive unemployment coverage for up to 20 weeks.