How to Appeal Your Unemployment Denial in Wyoming
LOOKING FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION?
If you are denied unemployment in Wyoming, it is important to understand your options. If your claim is denied by the state, you will undoubtedly feel frustrated, confused and angry, but there is a way for you to voice your concerns and the benefits you need. After receiving your Monetary Determination detailing the reasons you were denied unemployment benefits in WY, you will need to file an unemployment denial appeal.
The following issues will be discussed in greater detail below:
- Appealing your unemployment benefits decision in Wyoming
- Preparing for your Wyoming unemployment appeal hearing
- Wrongful termination laws in Wyoming
Wyoming Unemployment Resources
Appealing Your Unemployment Benefits Decision in Wyoming
“What can I do if unemployment denied my benefits in Wyoming?” The previous question is extremely common among unemployed job seekers, but there are steps you can take to improve your chances of having your claim approved. Once you receive the letter stating that your unemployment benefits denied, you will need to appeal the decision by faxing or mailing a signed statement to the Unemployment Insurance Division in Wyoming. You may also hand-deliver your unemployment denial appeal to a local Workforce Center. No matter what method you choose to file, you must submit an appeal within 28 days of receiving the denial determination in the mail. The state does not accept appeals over the phone, and you will need to continue filing weekly claims.
Before submitting your appeal, please be sure that it displays the following information:
- Name and social security number
- Current address and phone number
- Reason for filing an unemployment denial appeal
- Your signature
- Copy of the original decision
If you prefer to fax your unemployment denial appeal, the date the fax is labeled “RECEIVED” will be taken into consideration when evaluating timeliness. If you do not have access to a fax machine, you may use one at a local Workforce Center. Before faxing, please ask a center representative to stamp your appeal.
Preparing for Your Wyoming Unemployment Appeal Hearing
You are allowed to file an appeal if unemployment compensation benefits denied your application, but your employer can file an appeal as well. If your employer does not believe that you are entitled to benefits, they can petition the department to withhold them from you. All parties with a vested interest will be invited to the hearing, and a representative will send you a packet containing the information you need to prepare, as well as the date of the hearing. You maintain the right to submit relevant documents and evidence to a hearing officer as long as you do it before the actual day of the hearing.
If you fail to attend your WY unemployment denial appeal hearing on time, you may be automatically denied unemployment. If you need to reschedule, it is important to do so before the day of the hearing. All interested parties have the right to call witnesses, and if any of your witnesses do not speak English, you will need to notify the Division of Appeals before the hearing begins. After the hearing, you will receive a decision in the mail. If you are denied unemployment again, you may appeal to the Unemployment Insurance Commission within 28 days of receiving the original. All information submitted during the hearing will be contained after the hearing officer issues a decision.
Wrongful Termination Laws in Wyoming
Wrongful termination in Wyoming occurs when an employer discharges an employee for illegal reasons. The state and federal governments require that all employers follow certain laws and regulations regarding the hiring and termination of workers. These laws primarily serve to ensure that all workers receive equal treatment and employees cannot be fired for discriminatory reasons. If you were denied unemployment, but you believe that you were wrongfully terminated by your previous employer, you may still be able to claim benefits. You may have grounds for wrongful termination in WY if your employer discharged you for any of the reasons below.
- Your nationality, ethnicity, race, religion, gender, sexual orientation, veteran status, disability, or age.
- An employer asked you to engage in activities that violated your religious or spiritual beliefs.
- You were being subjected to physical, verbal, or sexual harassment or abuse.
- You reported a safety violation to OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration) and were fired by your employer.
- An employer asked to engage in criminal acts while at work.